Amy MacDonald – perfection?

amy macdonald

amy macdonald

 

Recently I’ve been listening a lot to the young Scottish singer/songwriter Amy MacDonalds debut album “This is the life”.

I’m usually not the kind of person to throw around praise and call things “perfect”. But I’m really struggling to NOT do that when it comes to this beauty and her fantastic voice and music.

What makes it so great? I’m not really sure, maybe the fact that I can’t help feeling great while listening to it? Maybe the fact that I have to remind myself that “I’m out in public, so don’t sing out loud!”? Maybe the fact that there’s not a single bad track or even a bad moment in the entire album?

This is the Life is great from start to finish. Of course some tracks are better than others, but none are bad. Not even average, they go from great to brilliant.
A few of the songs have got extensive air time on the radio around these parts. Songs like Poison Prince and This is the Life should be familiar to anyone who listens to radio. But for me, the real gem in this album is the utterly amazing song “A wish for something more”. Whenever I listen to it, I feel like bursting out in pure joy and just… explode. Not many songs gives me goosebumps and brings tears to my eyes, but this is the one. If it was possible to be in love with a song, I’d marry “A wish for something more”.

Amy MacDonald herself seems to be a very sympathetic and down-to-earth person. She’s often compared to Amy Winehouse because of the first name, but the similarity stops right there, thank god. Heck, Amy MacDonalds accent alone is enough to turn my knees to boiled spaghetti.

If I didn’t know better, I’d wonder if I had a little crush on this lovely human beeing 😉

Amy MacDonald:
6/6

This is the Life:
6/6

Perfect 🙂

Leave a Reply

